A Different Kind of Love Story II

20161105_125833

I couldn’t help it, when she said, “They’re scanning us right now…..” I almost laughed out loud. Instead, I held back the chuckle, and with a smirk I said, “Is it the CIA??” Her face told me she was hurt, and I regretted mocking her.

To make it even worse, her son Jacob piped up with, “Please sir……please don’t make fun of my Mom, she knows what she’s talking about…..and she’s been through a really tough time lately.” My heart sank.

I let out a sigh, and looked around. I still didn’t see anyone, and I was beginning to wonder if there really was an ex-boyfriend, with a 9mm, hiding in the bushes. Or was there something else?

And then I heard it! A humming sound, but electronic, and it seemed to be coming from everywhere, and nowhere, at the same time. And it started getting louder! I grabbed her hand and yelled, “Run!!” My only goal was to get us all out of there, and to the safety of the parking lot. She grabbed Jacob’s hand and off we went, running as fast we could.

Now keep in mind, I know this area very well, from spending a lot of time here. We were so far out in the park, and on the trails, there’s not even a cell tower out here. So I knew for sure that something was not right!

As we were running, the electronic humming seemed to dim, and then got louder again. Out of breath, but determined to introduce herself, she said, “By the way, my name is Melody!” I didn’t say anything because I was too busy running, and to be honest, I didn’t want her to know my name, not ever.

Once we did make it back to the parking lot, I asked her where her car was. She shocked me again with, “I don’t have a car.” My mouth dropped open, and she must have seen it because she quickly added, “Can we go to a coffee shop – or something?” “I’ll explain everything….as much as I can.”

To be continued, in a couple days!

      

Writing and Image© Copyright 2017, The Mystical Forest

Leave a Reply

