A Different Type of Love Story V

100_0761

It was horrifying, but you know what? It was gone in a few seconds. When I say that, I don’t mean like it took off like a normal space ship. I mean it simply wasn’t there! Did they know we saw them, and that’s why they left? I have no idea.

I asked Melody, in a whisper, “Anything on your phone?” “No nothing.” I noticed Jacob in the backseat, shaking. I managed a weak smile, as I turned to him and said, “Jacob it’s going to be alright buddy.” It was a cliché but it worked.

As I started up the car again, Melody turned to me and said one of the most beautiful things I have ever heard. She said, “Thanks for being here Nathan….” Ok, that one got me for sure, but I just nodded my head.

I put the car in gear, and rolled up to one of the nicest looking mini-mansions I had ever seen. “You mean…..you live here?” I simply couldn’t believe it! Jacob piped up as we all got out of the car, looking at the sky, “My Mom, is a scientist!”

Alright hear me – I was stupid, I mean maybe it’s a guy thing, but I had no idea this woman was as educated and as brilliant as all that. Why do men do that? Is it just our egos? Melody explained, “Actually, I’m a Microbiologist.” She smiled, like only she could. She knew she had me on that one.

If what Melody had been telling me was true, then no wonder the Protectors wanted her. They would need as many scientists as they could get their hands on, literally. I started seeing Melody in a new light then.

Once we were inside, we locked all the doors, and checked everything closely. It seemed to be safe. Melody started a nice fire in the family room. Of the 5 bedrooms, most were upstairs. But there was one that was on the main floor, next to the family room, and it had twin beds.

Melody said, “I think you should start out on the sleep sofa in the family room, but if the Protectors come around, you can duck in here, on the other bed.” She must have read my thoughts then, because she said, “Yes I trust you, not to do anything….” “You’ll sleep on the other bed!”

I just shook my head, but I got the message loud and clear.

  

To be continued.

    

Writing and Image© Copyright 2017, The Mystical Forest

Leave a Reply

