A Different Kind of Love Story VI

20161015_131958

So yes, it was really weird hopping into bed, in the middle of the night, in the same room with Melody. Keep in mind these were twin beds! But sure enough, the scanning and the lights every night, meant Melody was in danger of being taken away….by whoever they were.

And Jacob? He was too scared to sleep upstairs, so he camped out on the floor of the family room. Melody and I were both grateful he slept through every nightly visit, by you know who.

The most difficult thing though about sleeping in the same room with Melody, was the waking up part. We were both dressed in pajamas but it was still….you know embarrassing. If I woke up facing her and the sunlight was streaming through, I always turned away. And when she woke up, she was always out of room within seconds.

I really enjoyed sticking close by them though most days. Melody and I would drop off Jacob at school in my car, and then I would take Melody to the university. She seemed to enjoy talking in the car. Even though I’m not a morning person, I learned how to open up. Why do women want to know so much about a guy?

And yes I finally told her I only work part time selling auto parts, because I’m in vet school. You should have seen her face light up!! She was nonstop after that, talking I mean. And every night at the dinner table Melody would listen to what I learned that day. And even Jacob would listen for a while, until he got bored, and went off to play video games.

On a warm day at the beginning of spring, we decided to go for a picnic. It was in town though, so there would be lots of people around. None of us wanted anymore scanning scares. It was a beautiful day with the sun shining, and the buds were beginning to show on the trees.

Something happened that day……..I’m not sure how to explain it. We began seeing each other differently, as if we had just woken up from a dream…….and for the first time…….we truly saw each other.

I was amazed to be honest. And she kind of….. had this coy look in her eye, almost mischievous. I started sleeping in the family room again, because of the way our relationship…..was…..well developing. And you know what? It was about that time that the Protectors, or whoever they were, stopped coming around.

I wonder if there ever were really aliens hanging around…….one thing I do now though…..Melody and I are very much in love now, and going strong.

And every once in a while Melody gets that mischievous look in her eye……

I hope you have enjoyed this series.

    

Writing and Image© Copyright 2017, The Mystical Forest

Leave a Reply

