Hawk Eyes

20170503_161728

About a month later, I was back home on the east coast, hiding my eyes from those that knew me. My eyes had changed, I mean they really looked different. And I didn’t want anyone I knew, to start asking a lot of questions. I looked in the mirror and didn’t recognize who I was anymore. Comparing what I saw in the mirror, with what I could find on the internet, I had the eyes of a bird of prey.

I had a sales job, so I could do a lot of that over the phone. If I did need to go to a client’s business, I simply wore dark sunglasses. I figured that wouldn’t last for long though. When customers want to buy a product, they want to be able to trust you, and that meant eye contact.

So most days I could get by, but the most difficult part was staying away from my sometimes girlfriend, Janet. She would call me almost every day, sometimes several times in a day, and I would always make excuses for not seeing her. If she would pushed too hard, and say she was coming over, I would pull my “I’m not feeling well” card. Yeah, I know it was a lie, and I hated telling her that, but I wasn’t ready for her to see me.

I spent a lot of time in the mountains trying to figure all this out. I hiked the trails, went into some of the deep forest. But whether I was walking or sitting on a tree stump, I was mostly thinking. Ok I was praying and thinking. Some people hate when you bring faith into anything, or say a word like “prayer”. But I prayed asking God, what in the heck this was, why “hawk eyes”?

I never got an answer, well not right away. I was kind of excited once I did find part of the reason. So I called Janet up, and invited her to an adventure. “Hey Janet, can you come over with your hiking boots?” “I want to go up in the mountains with you, and show you something I found.” She hesitated, “Are you sure you’re up to this Michael?” That was an honest question, since I had been lying to her about not feeling well. I swore to myself I would tell her the truth soon, and said yes, I was ready.

Once she made it to my apartment I knew I needed to tell her everything. I had my darkest shades on when I answered the door. We hugged, and she made her way to my lips with hers, but she reached to remove the glasses, so I pulled away. She said, “What is it sweetheart??”

I went for it. “Janet, something happened to me in the mountains out west……I’m not sure why, but I can see really far now…..I mean real far, like a hawk kind of far…” She looked dumbfounded, and waited. “And Janet my eyes, they even look different.”

Then I took off the dark shades, but I was not prepared for what happened next. She screamed so loud, and for so long, it was like she was had just seen a murder. She then ran out the door, leaving it open, and I never saw her again after that.

And someone did call the police, so I had some explaining to do.

    

To be continued, early next week.

     

Writing and Image © Copyright 2017, Blue Skies in the Morning

Leave a Reply

