Hawk Eyes II

100_1301

Well, after Janet ran out and I talked to the police about her screaming, (don’t ask me about the story I made up) I was bummed out, and I decided to go out for the night. I’m not a drinker really, but I needed to be around people. And as long as I covered my eyes, I knew I would be ok.

Mack’s Pub was one of those places that men and women could meet each other. And there was never an atmosphere of pressure, it was always relaxed. You could be real with people, and not cover up who you really were. Well except for me, having the eyes of a bird of prey.

Everything was going well, until a certain lady, ok wait, I’m not sure if she was a lady, but she was a woman for sure. Anyway, she made a grand entrance when she opened the door, and yelled openly, “Hey!!” Everyone turned to look, and then she yelled, “I’m here now!” Without missing a beat, she walked up to the bar, and sat down just a few seats from me. I was praying she wouldn’t talk to me.

Mostly she was just bizarre looking. For one thing, she had a patch over one eye, and some messed up hair, like I had never seen before, covering the other eye. Did she even own a hairbrush? Or was that the style? And she kept mumbling to herself, while drinking her mug of beer.

And when she looked over my way, through her patch sizing me up, it was just way too much for me. I was hoping she wouldn’t say anything, but my hopes were dashed when she said, “I know who you are…..and I saw you out on the ridge yesterday.”

I inwardly panicked, but didn’t say anything. “Yep” she said. “That was you crossing over the stream, looking at your shadow, alright.” Was it true that she had seen me? I really had crossed the stream, just before I had seen the crime take place, down in the valley, and just before I called the police.

That had been my big surprise I wanted to share with Janet, before she took off running, and screaming. I could see far away, and I could turn it into something good! But now the one-eyed lady, with the messed up hair, cozied up to me at the bar, and repeated that she knew who I was.

I hated to do it, but I felt I had no choice. Just as she was moving in, and about to touch my arm, I turned to her, and lifted up my dark shades, praying no one else would see my eyes. Her jaw dropped, she said nothing, but she fainted and sprawled out on the floor.

In the noise and commotion, I slipped through the crowd. And this was probably the first time ever, I was glad not to be popular, with the ladies.

 

To be continued this weekend.

    

Writing and Image © Copyright 2017, Blue Skies in the Morning

Leave a Reply

