Hawk Eyes IV

20160707_202514

Well, if you had told me a couple of hours ago that I’d be here, on the ridge of this mountain, sitting on a huge boulder, with this strange woman with one eye, and messed up hair, I would have said you were crazy.

I’ve always loved the beauty of the night, but I had never seen one from the top of a mountain before. But even more amazing, she was really helping me learn how to use my night vision, and to be honest, I was floored.

As we sat there quietly, listening to the sounds of early summer, we talked quietly. At least I knew her name now – Michelle. I told her my name was Michael, and both of us thought that was kind of weird, but she just looked away smiling. It was one of those smiles that said she was hiding something, but something kind of….well beautiful I guess.

Every once in a while she would hold up a pair of binoculars, push the hair from her good eye, and search the valley below, until she found something for me to search for. “See if you can find the cat on the roof, of a white house.” So I would search – focusing in and out again, not knowing whether it was close or far away. Eventually I said, “There! There it is!” It was more than a mile away! I was stunned.

In between these search and find exercises, I told her how I got my eyes, and the accident. She listened, and nodded her head. “I always thought it would go away though, and it never did.” She surprised me, when she shook her head no and said softly, “It will never go away.”

I wasn’t sure how she knew that, but I was about to change the subject, when she turned and exclaimed, “Look! An owl!!” And I could see it perfectly, more than a ¼ mile away, swooping down, and capturing a mouse, then disappearing into a group of trees.

I was enjoying this so much it was like being on a high or something (don’t ask me about my younger days!). I couldn’t stop thinking of how much good I could do with these eyes! I’m not sure if she was cold, but she moved in closer to me. It was chilly, and both of us had jackets on. I took a chance though and put my arm around her. She snuggled into my shoulder.

I thought, “What the heck am I doing!!” She sighed as if she was letting go. My life was so weird now anyway, I guess it didn’t matter that she had a patch over one eye, and a ton of messed up hair. I was beginning to relax, and accept who I was now.

And you could say for sure, that I was accepting her. Like I said earlier, I was impressed with her. Somehow, without knowing me, she understood me, like no one else.

She said in a whisper, “I have a surprise for you, but I want to wait for the sun to rise.”

 

To be continued, in a couple of days!

     

Writing and Image © Copyright 2017, Blue Skies in the Morning

Leave a Reply

