Hawk Eyes VI

20160709_140150

I must have passed out, because I don’t remember anything before the two of us hit the ground, with a huge thud. The strange thing was, we were right back where we started. Was it a vision, or had we really turned into hawks?

To be honest, I couldn’t think straight, I was in too much pain, and as I rolled around moaning, unable to get up, I was vaguely aware of Michelle yelling at me. “What the hell is wrong with you?!!” “You almost killed both of us?!!” But her voice seemed distant and I had a ringing in my ears, so I ignored her.

As I began sitting up, she was still yelling, “You never give up, in the middle of a transformation!!” I shook my head trying to think, “A transfor…..what?” It was then that Michelle stood over me, with both hands on her hips. She said, “Trans-for-ma-tion.”, as if I needed to hear it slower. And then she did something I would never forget, and to be honest I wish she hadn’t done it.

She looked down at me and flipped up her eye patch. And when she saw my look of shock, and my jaw drop, she swept her almost blonde hair back, from the other eye. I couldn’t help myself, I turned to my right (away from her) and vomited like a big dog.

She had stared hard at me with the most hideous eyes I had ever seen. And if you haven’t guessed it by now, she had two of the strangest, and ugliest hawk eyes. She said nothing as I emptied my gut of every fragment of anything. Not looking at her, I eventually made it to my feet and covered my vomit with dirt.

What I did not know at the time, was that my reaction to her eyes, really hurt her feelings deeply. Tears were streaming down her face. But I didn’t know that, because I wasn’t looking at her any more. I looked around at the ground and started gathering my backpack, and the rest of my belongings. I also grabbed one of the blankets, and headed back down the trail. “Where are you going?” she asked. I mumbled, “I’m outta here.”

The only thing I wanted, was to be away from this whole mess, hawk eyes, wings, transformation – I was done! And that included Michelle. Stumbling, hurting, sick, and angry, I headed back towards the car, but at the last second, I decided on a side trail. Actually, it wasn’t a trail at all, but it was a path the deer often travelled.

I walked for hours, vaguely aware of a shadow of wings, following me. When I saw the shadow covering me, I knew instantly it was her. And it was if I could hear in my mind, Michelle’s voice calling me, “Michael wait!”

I didn’t care anymore, and I just wanted to be in the deepest, darkest woods I could find. I needed to think, and sort this all out.

 

To be continued tomorrow!

      

Writing and Image © Copyright 2017, Blue Skies in the Morning

2 thoughts on “Hawk Eyes VI

Leave a Reply

