Hawk Eyes VII – The Dark Forest

100_5704

Now, I want you to understand that I know these trails, these mountains, like the back of my hand. No, I’m serious, I’ve been walking them for years every weekend. But for some reason I didn’t really notice when it all began to change. I had too much on my mind I guess.

And at the top of my unresolved list, was that I would never have a romantic relationship again. Ok, in guy terms, I would never make love again. With my hawk eyes, normal women would freak out, and the only woman like me was Michelle. Besides having worse looking, and uglier hawk eyes than me, she was so weird!

I was fuming, but I stopped dead in my tracks when I came up on a stream that had never been there before. And the plants, the underbrush was all different. I had never seen some of them before! I kept going though, wanting a place so remote no one would ever find me. But then I noticed the sky.

It was not just grey now, but there was no sun either, I mean anywhere. To be honest there were no clouds either! I also began hearing the trees making a weird noise. I thought, “What the heck is this place!” It was about this time I heard Michelle calling me again.

“Michael!” I turned in every direction but did not see her. “Where are you?” I asked. “Michael, you need to get out of there, you’ve gone too far!” Now when she said that, I wasn’t sure what she meant, but I figured she just wanted me to be with her, going through “transformations” or something else weird.

But she got my attention when she said, “Michael I’m projecting my voice because you’ve gone into the Dark Forest……it’s like…..well…. another dimension, sort of. And Michael they hate hawk people……like you and I!!” It was then that the trees began moving towards me, and vines and underbrush, started going for my legs!

This wasn’t adding up, but I ain’t stupid. “Michelle everything is moving in against me – how do I get out of here?!” She told me to look at the trail that I had been on, “And Michael follow that trail for about 30 minutes – if you need to – run!”

I pulled my large hunting knife off my belt, and high-tailed it back the way I came, at least the best that I could. It was only noon, but this forest was growing darker, and a deep fog was moving in. “Oh man!!” I took off, but a vine got my right ankle and twisted itself around it, so down I went. My knife was the only thing that saved me as I slashed it off.

I heard Michelle again, “Michael, I will explain everything once you get back here…..but pleeeeease get back here!!” I wanted to yell, “I’m trying!!” but there was no time. As I took off running again a tree branch slapped me in the face. It hurt like hell, and now I was getting angry, but I kept running.

I knew I wasn’t going to make it but I had a thought. Isn’t wasn’t Michelle’s voice, I know it was my own brain saying the word “fire”. Somehow, I knew fire would bring me to safety, and deep within I knew I could throw my hand up, and burn this place to the ground.

I felt stupid, but I held up my right hand as I was running (with my knife in my left hand) as the forest continued to move in I yelled, “Fire!!!!”. And sure enough, fire streamed behind me, and above my head. I heard screams of pain behind me, but I kept running. There was no time for freaking out.

To be continued in a few days, and the next segment will be told by Michelle!

     

Writing and Image © Copyright 2017, Blue Skies in the Morning

Leave a Reply

