Hawk Eyes X – The Raven

20150406_172805

After Michelle tied the blanket around me, we headed up the trail, to the ridge with large boulders. I couldn’t wait to get to her place and finally crash. It was late afternoon now, and I followed, as she led the way. I asked her a question while we hiked, that I had been thinking about for some time. “So Michelle, do you think God made us this way………and what do you mean by us fighting evil?”

“He absolutely made us this way……every once in a while within our history, the dangers for people are so great, He creates hawk people like us, to help in the fight.” It didn’t take much thinking to realize we were in one of those dark times. She turned to me, and for a second I thought she wanted to kiss me,  but she continued with, “What amazes me is the timing – because it’s all in our genetic code!”

I was about to say something like, “Wow” but I stopped, with my mouth open, realizing or sensing something, close to us. It was in the sky, and it weren’t good!

Michelle sensed it too, and said, “Yeah, I know – it’s at about 2 o’clock and it is evil – but don’t look at it!!” We didn’t see it until much later, but we both knew, or “sensed” it was there.

“Let’s keep walking like we don’t know about it, but we won’t be able to stop at my house though, because he’s doing recon, and they will discover where I live!” Then we jabbered back and forth, “What is it?” “A raven, I know because I can smell them a mile away.” “Should I toss some fire, and burn him out of the sky?” “No! We can’t afford a war right now, and you’re too weak.” “What?”

She turned to me again, looking at me with her huge hawk eyes, but somehow I did see compassion. She said softly, “Using our gifts makes us weak, especially when we first discover them.”

No wonder I was worn out! We kept going even after it was dark though, for about another 3 hours. It was one of the hardest things I had ever done, and my legs felt like rubber. And yet the raven was still following us, sometimes just sitting in a tree, and at other times flying far enough away so we couldn’t reach out and destroy it.

So after a total of 3 ½ hours of walking had gone by, I was about to tell Michelle I had reached my limit, when she said, “Let’s sit down for a while.” So we sat down on a fallen tree. Michelle drew in close to me, and without saying a word, her lips parted and we kissed. It was one of the most amazing kisses I had ever been involved in.

She smiled at me in the dark, and said, “I’ve been thinking about that kiss all day….” Then she whispered in my ear something I cannot repeat here! Anyway, she also said something about it being time to practice one of her gifts, and she told me to get ready to move again.

She said, “One of my gifts is to make things disappear, take my hand…” And within a second, we were invisible.

   

 To be continued in a couple days!

I’m really enjoying this series. Can ya tell?

Writing and Image © Copyright 2017, Blue Skies in the Morning

Leave a Reply

