Hawk Eyes XI – Flying Solo

100_1056.JPG

I don’t remember much after that, other than it was really weird being able to walk and talk, see, taste, and feel, but I couldn’t see where……where my self was. I could feel Michelle’s hand and she said, “We need to stay connected for this to work….so keep holding on.”

So I did hold on. I vaguely remember Michelle say something important though, “Michael are you listening?” I told her yes, and shook my head, then remembered she couldn’t see that. “Michael…..this is important…..are you listening?” I said it again only louder this time, “Yes!! I’m listening!” “Shhh, not so loud.”

“Michael this is science, not magic…..we don’t practice magic, it is all a matter of physics, and chemistry!” I said nothing because I was falling asleep or maybe passing out.

I woke up the next morning tangled in some kind of web, and couldn’t move! Wait, I was stuck under a pile of blankets…..and well um…..Michelle and I were a mass of interconnected arms and legs. I managed to maneuver her limbs to the side and rolled her over. She was sleeping like a log. Did you know women can snore too?

Anyway, I remembered her saying that using our gifts would wear us out, so I thought she would be out for a while. The sun had been up, and I guessed it was past 9 o’clock. There was no sign of the raven, or of anything evil as I scanned the sky. And I couldn’t sense anything evil on the ground either.

Sooo, I had this wild idea of practicing my flying. For some reason I combed my hair first, looked back at Michelle, and closed my eyes concentrating – and then bam, like that I was a hawk! I jumped up on some rocks, started flapping my wings while running for all I was worth, and it worked!!!

I was flying, first down the mountain, over the river and then back up again. I flew over Michelle several times and decided to land in a pine tree next where she was, but flexed my talons first. Men, I can only describe flying this way, it’s about 1,000 times better than riding a motorcycle!

Sitting high in the pines, I watched her sleeping. Yeah, I admit it, I was starting to fall for her. Somehow, I knew we were made for each other. But I started thinking – do we get married? I mean who would marry a couple like us? Do we just stand on top of a mountain and pledge ourselves to each other, in front of God and everybody?

And it went more than just skin deep, it had to in our case. My thinking was all over the place, when I saw her begin to stir, so I flew down, and around and landed, quickly changing back to a human again. When she was almost awake, I kissed her lightly on the cheek. Yep, that did it, she was wide awake now, and said my name so beautifully I thought I would turn to melting wax, “Michael”, as she beamed from ear to ear.

I sat next to her, and she said, “Hey you were great…..last night!” I stammered, with my heart beating about a hundred miles an hour. “I was???” Then she punched my arm, and laughed, “Had you goin there for a minute – didn’t I?”

I got her back though, on the way back to our home. Yep, “our home”.

In a couple of days, I’ll share more about the two of us.

     

Writing and Image © Copyright 2017, Blue Skies in the Morning

Leave a Reply

