Hawk Eyes XII – Our Home

100_1292

Ok I admit it, I did put a toad down the back of her shirt on the way home. She screamed, she jumped, she took her shirt off. But then she got angry, chased me and yelled, “You dog!” She caught me too, tried tickling me, but I’m not ticklish. Ok….well that’s not entirely true.

Anyway, I’m getting distracted, telling you about our journey back home. Besides the rolling around and laughing our heads off, I asked Michelle a lot of questions. One of them was, “Hey Michelle, are all crows filled with evil?” She said, “Not crows Michael, ravens!” “You mean there’s a difference??”

I learned more about nature that day, than I have at any point in my life. She told me, “Ravens are much larger than crows, and many have decided to join the dark forces.” “And crows, there’re too selfish to think of anything but themselves….so they don’t choose sides.” I said, “I had no idea…”

Making the final ascent up to the ridge, Michelle declared, “I need a bath!” So I suggested we head for the stream I was in just yesterday. “Ok, we’ll have to stand guard for each other though, meaning we each take a bath….one at a time.” I started turning red.

As we walked under a group of pine trees, Michelle stopped dead in her tracks. I blurted out, “What’s wrong?” Michelle looked serious, when she turned around, and suggested we have a seat right there. So we sat down, and Michelle said, “Nothing’s wrong Michael…” She was hesitating but with tenderness filling her bulging hawk eyes and her voice, she said, “Michael I think you’re going to love where I live…but you know what?” I waited. “It’s your home too now.”

“There’s no going back now Michael.” When she said that, it was like the floor had dropped out from under me, and to be honest it wasn’t something I had thought of before. I know my face must have been ashen, “You mean no more being a salesman?” She shook her head no.

“You saw how the Dark Forest came after you.” “Because you’re so special, the darkness wants you dead Michael.” “You wouldn’t be safe down there again, and besides we have a job to do.” “That time you called the cops on the thugs breaking into houses, that was only the beginning.”

A few minutes later I was a hawk again, sitting on one of the large branches of an oak tree, guarding Michelle. In particular, there was a waterfall she enjoyed, like a shower. Even though I saw the back of her a few times I was too lost in thought to think about her that way.

I guess, in a way…..I was saying goodbye to the life I once knew. Even though I loved flying, and I was really digging Michelle, I was letting go of what I used to know, of who I used to be…..and……well it was tough.

After grabbing a quick dip myself, Michelle led me to some boulders well hidden in dense forest. She simply touched one of them and the opening was revealed. When I say that, I don’t mean it slid open – I mean one second the rock was there, and the next it wasn’t.

Michelle was beaming, and said, “Welcome home!”

Michelle wants to tell the next few parts, so she will in a couple of days. She’s a better story teller than I am anyway!

      

Writing and Image © Copyright 2017, Blue Skies in the Morning

2 thoughts on “Hawk Eyes XII – Our Home

Leave a Reply

