Hawk Eyes XVII – The Two Become One

100_1294

So how do I describe our wedding night in a poetic way? No, I’m not the type to describe every kiss and maneuver! H’mm, but we were lost in each other, blending. The two as one spirit, and yet different. Space and time seemed annihilated. We were the ebb and flow of oceans.

Not bad for a Tom Boy, huh? Yeah, I grew up kind of rough, never liking guys until much later. And I certainly wasn’t looking for Mr. Right, and picket fences. That’s not me! But then maybe that was all preparation for now, and the life Michael and I were living.

Michael. Just his name makes my heart beat. As we stood on top of our mountain, making sure no one else was around, I had to confess to him, hoping he wouldn’t be angry with me. We were holding each other’s hands, looking into each other’s large hawk eyes, when I said, “Michael, I have a confession to make.” He said nothing but had questions in his eyes.

“Michael, when we first met, I was only acting weird, I wasn’t really…..well maybe a little.” “But sweetheart I followed you in to the bar that night……because I thought you might be like I am, and well, I wanted you to like me.” “To be honest Michael I was after you….in a good way though.”

The biggest smile came over his face. And you know what he said? He said, “I already figured that out – are you ready to say our pledges now?” I was floored.

It was a hot summer day, and sweat was beginning to pour off me, as we stood in the sunlight. All I could think about really ladies, was dipping into the cool mountain stream we both loved……. “Yes, My Love.” was all I could say. I made sure I said it in a sultry, whisper kind of way. Wink wink.

We actually pledged ourselves to each other twice that day. Once as humans, and once as hawks. And here is what we said to each other:

I pledge myself to you forever, to love you and cherish you, regardless of what battles we may face.

I will always be faithful to you, I will care for you, and take care of you when you’re sick. I will forsake all darkness, and fight with, not against you.

May we grow as a couple, and may we seek ways to love each other even more over time.

Until death do we part.

Amen.

Kind of cool huh? So, after we both said this on our mountain top, we changed into hawks, and went to our favorite pine tree, repeating the same words, with slight variations.

Michael surprised me, when he jumped from the pine tree, and in midflight, changed into a human again, and landed in the river. “C’mon he yelled!” I spread my wings and landed on his shoulder. He gently presented his hand, and my talons grabbed hold, being careful not to squeeze too hard.

And when I changed into Michelle again, we gave each other our first kiss as a married couple, knee deep in the wonderful river we loved. Michael said it was symbolic somehow.

We took our time and made sure we enjoyed it!

Peace Out!

Michelle.

       

Writing and Image © Copyright 2017, Blue Skies in the Morning

Leave a Reply

