Hawk Eyes XIX – Spreading My Wings

20160514_120002.jpg

As I sat perched, high in a poplar tree, I could hear them coming from some distance away. Unmistakably the sound of humans, they were off the beaten path, and making their way through the brush. Were they poachers?

Michael and I had just reported some poachers hunting deer, the other day. It was so cool when the police caught them red-handed, in a remote parking lot! They had taken 5 deer. Michael said he loved seeing the shine of the handcuffs on those guys.

But no, these two were a couple, most likely taking a shortcut to the water falls. It was the end of June after all, and a lot more humans were in the forest now. As I watched them, I saw how cute they were together. Hiking boots, and walking sticks, backpacks, that were way too heavy. I started listening to them talk quietly as they put one foot in front of the other.

“John I don’t think this is the way……..we should have stayed on the trail.” But the guy said, “But if we keep walking east….I’m sure we’ll make it to the river…..” But the woman sounded frustrated when she mentioned, “John, these branches are tearing me to shreds!”

So that was it, they were lost! As best he could, the guy was clearing a path in front of them, but it was still tough going. I could see blood from scratches on their arms and legs. Ok, time for me to jump in.

I flew down, and landed on an eye level branch, very close – they couldn’t miss me… “John, a hawk…..look how beautiful she is!” With that encouragement I spread my wings, sitting there, perched on a branch. They both gasped.

I bobbed my head up and down, making some funny noises, and moved to a tree a little further away. Then I did the same thing, with the bobbing and noise making, and with my wings still outstretched. The woman said, “John, I think she wants us to follow her.”

And they did follow me. I led them all the way to the river, our river. I really felt like it belonged to Michael and I, even though no one can own nature. So much of our love, and our time, was spent here.

In a lot of ways our river was like our front porch. Just being together, without say anything is sometimes the best medicine. Medicine!

Thinking of medicine reminded me, I needed to head home and check on Michael. He has been injured lately, in one of our battles with the Dark Forest. A raven broad sided him, injuring his ribs. Michael didn’t have any problems burning that thing up, even though he was in a lot of pain.

We have had some horrific battles the past few days. And in addition to being in pain, my man has been down. Life lately, has not been all about frolicking in the forest, and making love, that’s for sure.

But the fact is, Michael and I are closer than ever now, and we will continue to fight the forces of darkness, with everything we’ve got.

Peace Out!

Michelle.

 

I hope you have enjoyed this series!

       

Writing and Image © Copyright 2017, Blue Skies in the Morning

2 thoughts on “Hawk Eyes XIX – Spreading My Wings

Leave a Reply

